Travelers Aid Society and Wayne County Airport Authority  Honor Detroit Metro Airport Ambassadors with THE PRESIDENTS VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD


Established in 2003, the President’s Volunteer Service Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded specific requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.  TASMD and WCAA are two of thousands of organizations that have joined forces to deliver the President’s Volunteer Service Award on behalf of the President to honor the volunteers who strengthen our nation.


“We are extremely proud to recognize our most outstanding volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award,” said Jim Kelly, TASMD CEO.  “Travelers Aid Airport Ambassador Volunteers are role models in our community, donating their time, energy and talent to bring us closer together as neighbors and a Nation. The Award is our way of thanking these volunteers and inspiring everyone in our community to make volunteering a central part of their lives.”


Travelers Aid has a long history of partnership with DTW airport to provide volunteer-based assistance to airport customers. Identified by their distinctive red vests, Detroit Metro’s Airport Ambassador Volunteers can be found throughout the Airport providing information to assist travelers along their journey to, from or through Metro Detroit.


More than 50 Airport Ambassador Volunteers have performed nearly 7,000 hours of community service so far in 2010 alone.  Airport Ambassador Volunteers provide a wide variety of services and information ranging from a point in the right direction to connecting stranded and separated travelers with their companions.


The Award, officially issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, is a way to thank and honor Americans who, by demonstrating their commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.


The Council is chaired by two-time Super Bowl Champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. Senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, and comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations, and community volunteering.


To be eligible to receive this Award, a Certifying Organization must record and verify that an honoree has completed specific service hour requirements varying by age.  The Certifying Organization may then deliver the award to the honoree on behalf of the President’s Council.


For information about becoming an Airport Ambassador Volunteer at Detroit Metropolitan Airport, contact Fran Wood, Airport Volunteer Supervisor, (313) 414- 6456 or www.travelersaiddetroit.org.




HONOREE                                         HOMETOWN

Valdene Bennett                                   White Lake

Tom Beyersdorf                                      Northville

Bob FitzGerald                                        Westland

Russ Haines                                              Canton

Wes Henrikson                                        Northville

Charlotte Hoskins                                    Romulus

Patrick King                                             Grass Lake

Elizabeth Kircos                                  Rochester Hills

Thomas Koscielny                                   Belleville

Milton Lanier                                              Detroit

Dana McWilliams                                  Brownstown

Ben Miller                                                 Northville

Flora Murray                                               Livonia

Chuck Myers                                       Farmington Hills

Carol Oakley                                               Trenton

Vicki Owens                                                 Trenton

Dee Phillips                                              Wyandotte

Kathleen Rankin                                       Riverview

Lou Reibling                                              Northville

Michael Roesch                                   Farmington Hills

Lyle Rosteck                                              Chelsea

Ken Russell                                             Brownstown

Joe Scafero                                               Livonia

Joyce Shoup                                           Riverview

Dianna Surowiec                                    Redford

Sharon Waske                                        Dearborn

Nicholas Yoneda                                      Canton